MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#6
Marcus Stroman
ERA W-L K
3.08 11-8 155
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 5-8 / 180 NFBC ADP: 143.18
Position: SPBorn: 5/1/1991 Birthplace: Medford, New York
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Blue Jays (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 8 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Marcus Stroman fell to 11-7, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Friday.
Analysis: Stroman struck out six, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 5:06 PM PT6:06 PM MT7:06 PM CT8:06 PM ET20:06 ET0:06 GMT8:06 5:06 PM MST7:06 PM EST7:36 PM VEN4:06 UAE (+1)7:06 PM CT-Stroman is penciled in to pitch Friday night against Detroit, acting Blue Jays manager DeMarlo Hale said Monday. Stroman left his last outing on Saturday when was hit by Mark Trumbo's 107 mph line drive on the right elbow. X-rays were negative.
Analysis: Stroman entered Saturday 11-6 with a 3.11 ERA in 27 starts.
Aug. 28 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed two runs - one earned - on seven hits in 6.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Monday. Stroman struck out four, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman has just two wins in nine starts since the All-Star break despite posting a 2.78 ERA over that span.
Aug. 24 10:52 PM PT11:52 PM MT12:52 AM CT1:52 AM ET1:52 ET5:52 GMT13:52 10:52 PM MST12:52 AM EST1:22 AM VEN9:52 UAE12:52 AM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed five runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-6 on Wednesday. Stroman struck out four, ending the game with a 3.17 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After surrendering just one home run in 66 2/3 innings over his previous 10 starts, Stroman served up three on a night where he clearly didn't have his best stuff. The gritty right-hander has still been very good overall during the past two months, compiling a 4-2 record and a 2.50 ERA in his past 11 outings.
Aug. 17 9:13 PM PT10:13 PM MT11:13 PM CT12:13 AM ET0:13 ET4:13 GMT12:13 9:13 PM MST11:13 PM EST11:43 PM VEN8:13 UAE11:13 PM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 11-6, allowing two runs on six hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Wednesday. Stroman struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.99 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Another very solid performance for the right-hander, who's 4-2 with a 2.03 ERA and seven quality starts over his past 10 outings. Stroman has permitted only one home run in 66 2/3 innings during that strong stretch. He's now 2-0 with a 2.25 ERA in three starts against Tampa Bay this season, and gets the Rays once more on Tuesday.
Aug. 11 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Marcus Stroman fell to 10-6, allowing four runs - zero earned - on four hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2 on Friday. Stroman struck out four, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Pittsburgh took advantage of two errors by Blue Jays second baseman Rob Refsnyder to score four unearned runs in the third. Stroman snapped a six-start unbeaten streak and has a 1.94 ERA in his past nine outings while going 3-2.
Aug. 6 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed three runs - two earned - on 11 hits and two walks in 6.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Houston Astros 7-6 on Sunday. Stroman struck out six, ending the game with a 3.17 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman did give up his share of hits, but most were singles and he was able to limit the damage before leaving with a 6-3 lead Roberto Osuna couldn't hold. The fiery right-hander has produced a solid 2.50 ERA over a six-start unbeaten streak, mostly due to having yielded just one home run during that stretch.
Aug. 2 10:06 PM PT11:06 PM MT12:06 AM CT1:06 AM ET1:06 ET5:06 GMT13:06 10:06 PM MST12:06 AM EST12:36 AM VEN9:06 UAE12:06 AM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 10-5, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Chicago White Sox 8-4 on Tuesday. Stroman struck out five, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman is 3-1 with a 2.17 ERA in his last seven games.
July 27 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed three runs on six hits and six walks in 4.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-4 on Thursday. Stroman struck out four, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman's walks were a career high and after his sixth, he stormed from the mound and catcher Russell Martin restrained him as he attempted to get at umpire Will Little. Stroman was ushered from the field by a coach. Martin left after talking to the umpires.
July 22 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed one run on five hits and five walks in 7.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Cleveland Indians 2-1 on Saturday.
Analysis: Stroman struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.98 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 17 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed three runs - zero earned - on five hits and three walks in 6.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Monday. Stroman struck out five, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman turned in his third quality start in his past four outings, going 2-1 with a 1.03 ERA in that span. He's allowed two earned runs or fewer in seven of his last nine starts.
July 8 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 9-5, allowing one run on six hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Houston Astros 7-2 on Saturday. Stroman struck out six, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman was solid after leaving his last start with a blister. He has a 1.37 ERA in his past three outings and has allowed two earned runs or fewer in six of his last eight starts. The right-hander said the next time he took the mound should have been at Tuesday's All-Star Game. ''Absolutely,'' he said. ''I think I should have been there 100 percent. I think I've pitched well enough.''
July 3 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Marcus Stroman fell to 8-5, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 6-3 on Monday. Stroman struck out three, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman came out due to a blister. ''Extremely frustrating. I feel like it's an epidemic that's happening across the big leagues now, a bunch of pitchers getting blisters, guys who have never had blisters before. So for MLB to turn their back to it, I think that's kind of crazy,'' said Stroman, who said he hopes to make his next start. ''I have no theory. But obviously, I mean, it's not a coincidence that it's happening to so many guys all of a sudden."
June 28 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 8-4, allowing five hits and one walk over 7.2 scoreless innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-0 on Wednesday. Stroman struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman recovered nicely from a seven-run outing at Texas last Thursday to win for the first time since June 10. He threw a career-high 119 pitches. It was the highest total by a Toronto pitcher since David Price threw 119 against Minnesota on Aug. 3, 2015.
June 22 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Marcus Stroman fell to 7-4, allowing seven runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Texas Rangers 11-4 on Thursday. Stroman struck out five, ending the game with a 3.69 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman tied a career high in runs allowed and has now lost consecutive starts after going 6-0 with a 2.77 ERA in his previous 10 outings.
June 17 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Marcus Stroman fell to 7-3, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2 on Saturday. Stroman struck out five, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman lost for the first time in more than six weeks, but he still has a 2.55 ERA over his last eight starts.
June 11 9:49 AM PT10:49 AM MT11:49 AM CT12:49 PM ET12:49 ET16:49 GMT0:49 9:49 AM MST11:49 AM EST12:19 PM VEN20:49 UAE11:49 AM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 7-2, allowing two runs - one earned - on six hits in 7.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Seattle Mariners 4-2 on Saturday. Stroman struck out six, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The Blue Jays have won the last seven games he has started. Stroman has won five of those, posting a 2.34 ERA.
June 4 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 3-2 on Sunday. Stroman struck out four, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman hasn't lost in his last nine starts, going 5-0 with a 2.96 ERA
May 30 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 6-2, allowing two runs on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cincinnati Reds 17-2 on Monday. Stroman struck out five, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman improved to 5-0 with a 2.96 ERA in his past eight starts. He has not lost since a home defeat to Boston on April 18. He was knocked around for five runs and six hits in three innings at Yankee Stadium on May 3, however, and will make his next start against New York on Saturday. Despite that showing, he is 3-0 with a 0.90 ERA and 0.63 WHIP in four career home starts against the Yankees.
May 24 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 5-2, allowing four runs on four hits and four walks in 5.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-4 on Wednesday. Stroman struck out five, ending the game with a 3.30 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman didn't have his best stuff, but he improved to 4-0 with a 2.95 ERA with 38 strikeouts over his last seven starts.
May 18 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Stroman improved to 2-0 with a 1.02 ERA in his last three starts with 5 2/3 strong innings in a 9-0 win at Atlanta on Thursday.
Analysis: Stroman also hit his first career home run, the first by a Toronto pitcher since Mark Hendrickson's shot against Montreal on June 21, 2003.
May 13 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed two runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-2 on Saturday. Stroman struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman has allowed two runs over 12 innings in his last two starts.
May 8 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 3-2, allowing six hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-2 on Monday. Stroman struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman looked fine after exiting Tuesday's outing against the Yankees after allowing five runs over three innings due to tightness around his right armpit.
May 5 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Blue Jays manager John Gibbons said Stroman is expected to make Monday's scheduled start against Cleveland.
Analysis: Stroman exited Tuesday's outing against the Yankees after just three innings and 66 pitches due to tightness around his right armpit, but the injury isn't a major concern. It's good news for a Toronto rotation that's currently without two other key members in Aaron Sanchez (split finger nail) and J.A. Happ (sore elbow).
May 4 9:04 PM PT10:04 PM MT11:04 PM CT12:04 AM ET0:04 ET4:04 GMT12:04 9:04 PM MST11:04 PM EST11:34 PM VEN8:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed five runs on six hits and three walks in 3.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 8-6 on Wednesday. Stroman struck out two, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman left after three innings because of what appeared to be tightness in his right armpit. He allowed five runs and six hits in his shortest start since the Chicago White Sox chased him after two outs on Aug. 15, 2014.
Apr. 28 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 7.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-4 on Friday. Stroman struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Stroman was in line for the win before the Rays scored four times in the eighth inning. He's allowed three earned runs over 16 1/3 innings in his last two starts.
Apr. 18 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Stroman was knocked around for six runs and 11 hits in 4 2/3 innings in Tuesday's 8-7 loss to the Red Sox.
Analysis: Stroman was coming off a complete game against the Brewers and had allowed just three runs total in his first two starts. He's next slated to take the ball Sunday against the Angels. In his only start against them last season, he gave up two runs in six innings of a 4-0 loss.
Apr. 13 7:35 AM PT8:35 AM MT9:35 AM CT10:35 AM ET10:35 ET14:35 GMT22:35 7:35 AM MST9:35 AM EST10:05 AM VEN18:35 UAE9:35 AM CT-Stroman pitched a complete game for the Blue Jays, allowing two runs and seven hits in Wednesday's 2-0 loss to Milwaukee.
Analysis: Stroman is 1-1 with a 1.76 ERA. Stroman's complete game was the first for Toronto since R.A. Dickey threw one against Cleveland on Sept. 2, 2015.
Apr. 6 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Stroman was excellent in his season debut Thursday, allowing one run and six hits over 6 1/3 innings in a 5-2 win at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Stroman had struggled in his career against the Rays before Thursday, going 3-4 with a 4.84 ERA.
Mar. 5 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Stroman is all warmed up for the World Baseball Classic. The Toronto right-hander allowed his lone spring training run during a 2 2/3-inning outing Sunday in the Blue Jays' 5-3 loss to the Tampa Bay Rays.
Analysis: Stroman, coming off two perfect innings against Pittsburgh on Feb. 27, allowed four hits and had three strikeouts. He also fanned three over 31 pitches in the game with the Pirates. ''He's been at it since Day One,'' Toronto manager John Gibbons said. ''He's been really good.'' Stroman will be joining a United States team that opens WBC play in Miami later this week with games against Colombia (Friday) and defending champion Dominican Republic (Saturday).

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Tor 11 6 1 - 1 26 20 1 130.2 125 56 53 7 28 1 111 1.17 3.65
2015 Tor 4 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 27.0 20 5 5 2 6 0 18 0.96 1.67
2016 Tor 9 10 0 - 0 32 32 0 204.0 209 104 99 21 54 0 166 1.29 4.37
2017 Tor 11 8 0 - 0 30 30 2 184.1 186 76 63 19 55 1 155 1.31 3.08
Career 35 24 1 - 1 92 86 3 546.0 540 241 220 49 143 2 450 1.25 3.63

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Tor 32 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Tor 31 7 2 2 1 0 1 1 0 4 0 0 .286 .286 .857
Career 99 12 5 2 1 0 1 1 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .500

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 Tor Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 19.1 22 10 9 1 4 0 10 4.19
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 11 6 5 1 3 0 9 3.46
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 11 4 4 0 1 0 1 5.68
2016 Tor Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 7 6 6 3 3 0 11 4.76
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 2 2 1 0 0 6 3.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 3 4 4 2 3 0 5 6.75
Career 1 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 30.2 29 16 15 4 7 0 21 4.40


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1788 96 88 93.4 62.3
Curveball 191 86 78 82.7 6.66
Slider 663 91 83 86.8 23.1
Changeup 156 88 78 82.7 5.44
Cut Fastball 72 93 89 90.8 2.51

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.