MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#67
Matt Bowman
ERA S K
3.70 1 33
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-0 / 189
Position: RPBorn: 5/31/1991 Birthplace: Chevy Chase, Maryland
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 13th Round by Mets (2012)


Latest News
July 22 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Matt Bowman fell to 2-4, allowing one run on one hit without recording an out, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Saturday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.70 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 21 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Matt Bowman improved to 2-3, allowing no hits over 0.1 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 11-4 on Friday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
July 20 12:20 PM PT1:20 PM MT2:20 PM CT3:20 PM ET15:20 ET19:20 GMT3:20 12:20 PM MST2:20 PM EST2:50 PM VEN23:20 UAE2:20 PM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the New York Mets 3-2 on Thursday. Bowman struck out two, ending the game with a 3.51 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 17 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Matt Bowman allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 6-3 on Monday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 15 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Matt Bowman walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-0 on Saturday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.69 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 14 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Matt Bowman allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-2 on Friday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.76 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 8 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 4-1 on Saturday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 6 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 4-3 on Thursday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
July 6 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE11:15 PM CT-Matt Bowman allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Miami Marlins 9-6 on Wednesday. Bowman struck out one, ending the game with a 3.93 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 3 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Matt Bowman allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 14-6 on Monday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 2 9:27 AM PT10:27 AM MT11:27 AM CT12:27 PM ET12:27 ET16:27 GMT0:27 9:27 AM MST11:27 AM EST11:57 AM VEN20:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-Matt Bowman recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Washington Nationals 2-1 on Saturday. Bowman struck out one, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The Nationals rallied in the ninth, getting an RBI single from Stephen Drew and loading the bases with two outs against Trevor Rosenthal. But then manager Mike Matheny turned to Bowman and he was able to strike out pinch-hitter Adrian Sanchez looking on the ninth pitch of the at-bat for his first career save.
June 29 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 10-4 on Thursday. Bowman struck out one, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 28 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET12:38 ET16:38 GMT0:38 9:38 AM MST11:38 AM EST12:08 PM VEN20:38 UAE11:38 AM CT-Matt Bowman fell to 1-3, allowing one run on two hits in 0.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5 on Tuesday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
June 26 7:43 AM PT8:43 AM MT9:43 AM CT10:43 AM ET10:43 ET14:43 GMT22:43 7:43 AM MST9:43 AM EST10:13 AM VEN18:43 UAE9:43 AM CT-Matt Bowman allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-4 on Sunday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 22 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-1 on Thursday. Bowman struck out one, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 18 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Baltimore Orioles 8-5 on Sunday. Bowman struck out one, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 15 9:19 AM PT10:19 AM MT11:19 AM CT12:19 PM ET12:19 ET16:19 GMT0:19 9:19 AM MST11:19 AM EST11:49 AM VEN20:19 UAE11:19 AM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-6 on Wednesday. Bowman struck out two, ending the game with a 4.55 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 7 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Matt Bowman allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 6-4 on Wednesday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
June 5 10:16 AM PT11:16 AM MT12:16 PM CT1:16 PM ET13:16 ET17:16 GMT1:16 10:16 AM MST12:16 PM EST12:46 PM VEN21:16 UAE12:16 PM CT-Matt Bowman fell to 1-2, allowing one run on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-6 on Sunday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
June 2 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Matt Bowman allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Friday. Bowman struck out one, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 1 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Matt Bowman walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-0 on Thursday. Bowman struck out one, ending the game with a 5.09 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 27 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Matt Bowman allowed three runs on three hits in 0.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Colorado Rockies 10-0 on Friday. Bowman struck out one, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
May 24 6:46 AM PT7:46 AM MT8:46 AM CT9:46 AM ET9:46 ET13:46 GMT21:46 6:46 AM MST8:46 AM EST9:16 AM VEN17:46 UAE8:46 AM CT-Matt Bowman walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.2 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Tuesday. Bowman struck out three, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
May 21 9:18 AM PT10:18 AM MT11:18 AM CT12:18 PM ET12:18 ET16:18 GMT0:18 9:18 AM MST11:18 AM EST11:48 AM VEN20:18 UAE11:18 AM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Saturday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 20 9:42 AM PT10:42 AM MT11:42 AM CT12:42 PM ET12:42 ET16:42 GMT0:42 9:42 AM MST11:42 AM EST12:12 PM VEN20:42 UAE11:42 AM CT-Matt Bowman blew his first save, allowing one run - zero earned - on one hit and two walks in 0.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-5 on Friday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 18 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4 on Wednesday. Bowman struck out two, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 13 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-3 on Saturday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
May 10 9:33 PM PT10:33 PM MT11:33 PM CT12:33 AM ET0:33 ET4:33 GMT12:33 9:33 PM MST11:33 PM EST12:03 AM VEN8:33 UAE11:33 PM CT-Matt Bowman did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 6-5 on Tuesday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
May 7 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Matt Bowman allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-4 on Sunday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 5 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Matt Bowman fell to 1-1, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 1.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4 on Thursday. Bowman struck out one, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Matt Bowman allowed three runs on three hits in 0.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Sunday. Bowman struck out one, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Matt Bowman improved to 1-0, allowing one hit over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Thursday. Bowman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.54 ERA and 0.69 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)6:33 PM CT-Bowman pitched a perfect seventh Sunday against the Brewers.
Analysis: Bowman extended his scoreless inning streak to 19 2/3 over 20 games dating back to Sept. 6 of last season when he allowed four runs against Pittsburgh. He has pitched 9 2/3 scoreless innings this season in 11 appearances.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 StL 2 5 0 - 1 59 0 0 67.2 59 31 26 4 20 2 52 1.17 3.46
2017 StL 2 4 1 - 3 49 0 0 41.1 35 20 17 3 10 0 33 1.09 3.70
Career 4 9 1 - 4 108 0 0 109.0 94 51 43 7 30 2 85 1.14 3.55

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 StL 59 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 StL 50 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
Career 109 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 437 94 89 90.8 64.55
Slider 73 89 82 86.1 10.78
Split-Finger 167 84 77 80.5 24.67

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.